Community Redevelopment Agency (CRA)

St. Cloud CRA Logo_RGB

What is the CRA?

The Community Redevelopment Agency (CRA) refers to a public entity created by a city or county to implement the community redevelopment activities outlined under the Florida Community Redevelopment Act of 1969 codified as Chapter 163, Part III, Florida Statutes and provides a vehicle whereby local communities may form a CRA, and further create a redevelopment trust fund for financing improvements within a predetermined redevelopment target areas.

The St. Cloud Community Redevelopment Agency (CRA) was established May 26, 2005 with the signing of an Interlocal Agreement between the City and Osceola County and is a dependent taxing district established for the purpose of carrying out redevelopment activities that include reducing or eliminating blight, improving the tax base, creating and retaining employment opportunities, and encouraging public and private investments in the CRA.

The Agency encompasses an area of slightly more than 700 acres, which represents 13% of the City's overall area and includes about 1,300 parcels. The CRA is subdivided into 3 distinct districts, each with its own unique character and individually identified vision and goals: Downtown, Central, and Gateway.

CRA Board

The CRA Board was established by the local government, and functions within that local government. In St. Cloud, the City Council members, plus two citizens, serve as the CRA board members.

Watch CRA Board Meetings

Projects & Grant Programs

Current areas of focus include the following projects and grant programs: 

  • Downtown Revitalization
  • Highway 192 Beautification
  • Historic Preservation
  • Building and Site Improvement Grant
  • VFW Façade
  • Old Makinson Hardware/918 New York Ave. acquisition & sale

CRA Stats 2023

Quick Links

Should you encounter any inaccessible material or a barrier to the use of this website, please contact the City of St. Cloud at: 1300 9th SDone Editingt., St. Cloud, FL 34769 (407) 957-7300.